D-Day Landings in Normandy

Tour Includes


  • 3 or 4 nights hotel with continental breakfast
  • Specialist Battlefield Guide
  • Hundreds of convenient joining points in the UK, or begin/end your tour in Europe
  • Travel by Executive coach or upgrade to Silver Service or Luxuria

4 or 5 Days from $644 per person

D-Day Landings in Normandy

6 June 1944 was a turning point in the Second World War with the Allied landings on the Normandy coast during Operation Overlord – the Invasion of mainland Europe. On what is our main WW2 Introductory Tour we see some of the most iconic D-Day locations and visit all the D-Day landing beaches along the Normandy coastline as well as seeing the site of the Pegasus Bridge glider landing, and where the ‘Band of Brothers’ fought near St. Mère Eglise. Understand D-Day as you overlook Bloody Omaha, or visit the bunkers at Juno Beach and realise that events on these battle sites are what have defined our modern world.

4-Day Tour – D-Day Landings in Normandy

Day 1

Depart from your chosen UK pick-up point and travel to the port where a coach interchange will take place, you will then join your tour coach for the Channel crossing. On arrival on the Continent we continue to our hotel (passengers joining the tour in Europe will meet the group at the hotel this evening).

Day 2 – Britain’s D-Day: Pegasus Bridge & British Beaches

We start at Pegasus Bridge, the scene of the first actions of D-Day, where Airborne troops stormed the position from gliders and held on until the linkup with ground forces from Sword Beach was made. We see where the gliders landed, the Gondrée Café – arguably the first house liberated on D-Day – and visit the Memorial Pegasus Museum where the original bridge is located. In Ranville we see the Airborne graves and after lunch, proceed on to the British landing beaches, starting at Sword Beach. At Juno Beach we visit the Juno Beach Centre which explains the story of the Canadian role in the Battle of Normandy, and at Gold Beach, see where some of the heaviest casualties were suffered by British troops storming the tough defences at Asnelles. We end the day at Arromanches where the Mulberry Harbour was constructed, much of which is still visible out to sea.

*Breakfast Included

HIGHLIGHTS  ★ Arromanches  ★ Juno Beach  ★ Pegasus Bridge  ★ Sword Beach

Day 3 – America’s D-Day: Bloody Omaha & American Airborne

The story of ‘Bloody Omaha’ and the terrible American sacrifice here on D-Day has been immortalised in the film Saving Private Ryan. Uncover the real story with a visit to the Normandy American Cemetery and Omaha Beach where the landings took place, seeing the memorial to the 29th Division. We also take time to visit the newest Normandy war museum, the Overlord Museum-Omaha Beach, before taking lunch in St. Mère Église, and then looking at the story of the US Airborne forces at the new Richard Winters Leadership Memorial; Dick Winters commanded Easy Company of 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, otherwise known as the ‘Band of Brothers’. At Utah Beach we follow the story of the successful landings and visit the expanded Utah Beach Museum. We end the day at the German Cemetery at La Cambe, where German Tank Ace Michael Wittmann is buried.

*Breakfast Included

HIGHLIGHTS  ★ Omaha Beach  ★ Overlord Museum  ★ Richard Winters Leadership Memorial

★ Utah Beach Museum  ★ German Cemetery la Cambe  ★ Normandy American Cemetery

Day 4

We leave the hotel after breakfast and travel to the Channel port. You will leave your tour coach behind as you join your transfer vehicle for your return journey to the UK (passengers departing the tour in Europe will farewell the group at the hotel).

*Breakfast Included

Departure Dates & Prices










































































Departure DateDaysTravel ByTour refPrice
Mon 13 July 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$948
Mon 13 July 20205Luxuria5FDNX/1$1119
Fri 17 July 20204Executive4FDN/1$682
Fri 17 July 20204Executive4FDNH/1$872
Mon 27 July 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$948
Mon 27 July 20205Luxuria5FDNX/1$1119
Mon 3 August 20205Luxuria5FDNX/2$1100
Fri 7 August 20204Executive4FDNH/1$872
Fri 14 August 20204Executive4FDN/1$682
Mon 17 August 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$948
Mon 17 August 20205Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1195
Fri 21 August 20204Executive4FDN/1$682
Mon 24 August 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$948
Mon 24 August 20205Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1195
Fri 4 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$663
Mon 7 September 20205Executive5FDN/1$834
Fri 18 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$663
Thu 24 September 20204Executive4FDN/1$663
Fri 2 October 20204Executive4FDN/1$625
Mon 5 October 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$929
Mon 19 October 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$910
Thu 22 October 20204Silver Service4FDNHV/1$948
Mon 26 October 20205Silver Service5FDNV/1$910
Mon 26 October 20205Luxuria5FDNX/1$1100
Mon 26 October 20205Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1138
Thu 29 October 20204Silver Service4FDNV/1$720
Thu 29 October 20204Luxuria4FDNX/1$815
Mon 1 March 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$891
Thu 4 March 20214Executive4FDN/1$625
Thu 4 March 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$701
Thu 18 March 20214Luxuria4FDNX/1$853
Mon 22 March 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$910
Fri 26 March 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$739
Mon 29 March 20215Luxuria5FDNX/1$1119
Fri 2 April 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$758
Mon 12 April 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$929
Fri 16 April 20214Executive4FDN/1$663
Fri 16 April 20214Silver Service4FDNV/1$758
Mon 3 May 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$967
Mon 10 May 20215Executive5FDN/1$834
Fri 21 May 20214Executive4FDN/1$720
Mon 24 May 20215Luxuria5FDNX/1$1138
Mon 7 June 20215Silver Service5FDNV/1$986
Fri 11 June 20214Executive4FDN/1$720
Mon 14 June 20215Luxuria5FDNX/1$1138
Fri 16 July 20214Executive4FDNH/1$910
Mon 26 July 20215Silver Service5FDNHV/1$1233

D-Day Landings in Normandy Tour

4 Days from $568 per person
Enquire online or call our friendly travel advisers on 844-400-BatteTours (Within the US)

Travel Options

When it comes to getting you to your destination, Mat McLachlan Battlefield Tours makes it easy, with a selection of travel options for you to choose from on our Tours. You can join your coach at a convenient joining point in the UK (we have hundreds to choose from throughout England, Scotland and Wales), or join/depart the tour in Europe.

 

Coach Options: Travel by Executive or Silver Service or upgrade to Luxuria

 

Please note: Coach options can differ between each tour

Accommodation

You will stay for three or four nights at either the Ibis Caen-Herouville Savary or the 2-star Hotel Carline Caen Nord. Upgrade to the 3-star Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre (Tour Ref 4FDNH, 4FDNHV & 5FDNHV). The hotel is situated close to the heart of the historic town and the Memorial. Facilities include a relaxing bar and restaurant.

How To Book

D-Day Landings in Normandy Tour

Contact our reservations team on 844-400-BatteTours, email info@battletours.com or click on the enquiry button below.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Full terms and conditions click here

Tours are operated in conjunction with our UK partner, Leger Holidays.

Please note: Itineraries are subject to change due to operational reasons. Any changes will be advised closer to the time of departure.

Menu